MQI Luton participates in Luton Council of Faith's PEACE VIGIL

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

On Friday 4th May in the grounds of Saint Mary's Church the Luton Council of Faiths held a Peace Vigil, calling on the Luton community to stand up for peace and unity in the face of the expected march and demonstration of the EDL through Luton planned for 5 May.

The promotional materials of the event stated:

"We have had a very strong and positive feedback exhorting us to have a follow up event after our last gathering on 20 April outside Bury Park Community Centre.

Therefore, as people of all faiths and no particular faith affiliation, living together in Luton, committed to grow in understanding of each other, we are all invited to gather together to express and experience the strength of community solidarity in Luton. Come and stand with people of different backgrounds, reflecting the richness and diversity of Luton, promoting peace and acceptance while rejecting hatred and prejudice.

We call upon all to:

  • Reject the divisive and provocative politics of the small extremist groups
  • Resist reacting in any way, but especially that which violates not just the law, but our beliefs and values too
  • Demonstrate that Luton is as welcoming, aspiring and safe for all as any other town in Europe
  • Witness in public and showcase our common solidarity Strengthen community cohesion across faiths and cultures in Luton"

Members of MQI Luton also work actively as part of the council of faiths and participated throughout and wore t-shirts to support the cause and the London Declaration.

Reported by: Nasir Akram

Photographs courtesy of

London Banners

Luton Local Executive Committee 


Post Holder


Haji Mumtaz Ali

Senior Vice President

Muhammad Younis Butt

Vice President

Abrar Ahmed

General Secretary

Zubair Ahmed Malik

Finance Secretary

Shakeel ul-Zaman

Deputy Finance Secretary

Dr Azhar

Media Secretary

Hasnain Saleem

Welfare Secretary

Javed Akhtar Ranjha

Dawah Secretary

Hafiz Imran Ahmed

Deputy Dawah Secretary

Nasir Akram

Membership Secretary

Basharat Hussain